Skip to content

Reconcile ​

Overview ​

Reconcile tracks your workspace against server state to identify differences and missing operations. In the Visual Client, Live reconcile (auto-reconcile) continuously keeps this state up to date while you work.

Reconcile is focused on local differences that are not already covered by existing file operations, so you do not miss or forget local modifications that should be added to a change list.

When you use it ​

Use reconcile tabs to keep an eye on local modifications, especially after large moves, deletes, imports, or external file changes.

What you can do here ​

  • Monitor differences detected automatically in your workspace
  • Review newly detected edits in Workspace changes
  • Move from detected changes to the appropriate follow-up action

Reconcile tabs ​

  • Modified: files that changed locally and may need operations such as mark for edit.
  • Missing: files expected in the workspace but currently absent locally.
  • Extra: files present locally but not tracked in the current workspace state, often candidates for mark for add.
  • Not latest: files that exist locally but are not at the latest revision.
  • All: a single tree that concatenates all reconcile states together.

Actions from tabs ​

From each tab, you can perform operations appropriate to that state. For example:

  • From Modified, mark files for edit.
  • From Extra, mark files for add.
  • From Missing, resolve missing files with the appropriate workspace action.
  • From Not latest, update files to the latest revision when needed.

Typical flow ​

  1. Make file changes in your workspace.
  2. Use reconcile tabs to review detected differences.
  3. Confirm the resulting operations are in the correct change list before submit.